10th Annual Symposium, BE 2024

With sustained efforts from the faculty and students, the Annual BE symposium will be organized on January 12 and 13, 2024. The prime objective of the symposium is to acquaint the students and corporate fraternity worldwide to recent developments in bioengineering, particularly in immunology, oncology, novel therapeutics and next generations diagnostics. The symposium will enhance the communication network within the research fraternity and also serve as a platform that provides a glimpse of the technological advances in these research areas in India through a series of plenary talks. The symposium will also conduct a STEM career discussion among people with diverse career roles and current graduate students with an intent to gear up the students for the professional challenges ahead.

Important Dates

11th January STEM Career Discussion
12th-13th  January Symposium Talks and Poster presentations


Program Schedule

STEM Career Discussion (Jan 11, 2024)

The session aims to bring together established graduate scholars in various STEM fields and students to discuss-

  1. What are the possible career options after PhD
  2. Scope of the career fields in India and abroad
  3. How an individual converges to a best possible career option
  4. What skill sets are required, and how to prepare for them well in time
  5. What are the application processes, and timeline of the events

We have clubbed careers in broadly three categories and are grateful for the following speakers for joining us:

Time Career groupings Speakers Position
4 – 5 pm IST Science Communication, Publishing and Grant Writing Aditi Jain Development Editor, ACS Publications
Aparna Ganguly Editorial Development Manager, Royal Society of Chemistry
5 – 6 pm IST Industrial Position (R&D and management), and Start-ups Akshay Datey Lead Scientist, Ykrita Life Sciences Pvt. Ltd
Anil Vishnu Research and Development Engineer, IMEC, Belgium
Anjali Gupta Scientific Writer, Elucidata
Rajesh Yadav Co-founder Aerobiosys
6 – 7 pm IST Academic Postdoctoral and Faculty position Ameya Dravid Postdoctoral fellow, Georgia Tech
Aritra Chatterjee Assistant Professor, BITS Pilani, Hyderabad Campus
Rajeev Mudakavi Postdoctoral fellow, Chemical and Biological Engineering – Colorado School of Mines
Zinia Mohanta Postdoctoral fellow, KKI John Hopkins

Join us to hear anecdotes and decisions made that helped the above speakers to land up in their current positions.

Time: 4-7 PM IST

Venue: Online (link will be shared to registered participants)

Speaker Sessions (Jan 12-13, 2024)

Time: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Venue: Biological Sciences Main Auditorium, Ground floor, Biological Sciences Building

Jan 12

8:30 – 9:00 AM

Tea, Coffee and Sandwich


9:00 – 9:10 AM

Introduction to the 10th Annual BE Symposium – Prof. Kaushik Chatterjee

9:10 – 9:15 AM

Introduction to the Sanjay Kumar Biswas memorial lecture

Prof. Medhavi Vishwakarma

9:15 – 10:15 AM

Sanjay Kumar Biswas memorial lecture

Prof. Suman Chakraborty, IIT Kharagpur

10:15 – 10:45 AM

Tea and Coffee Break


10.45 – 11:30 AM

Dr Vasan Sambandamurthy, Bugworks Research Inc

Session 1 –

Novel therapeutics

11:30 – 11:50 AM

Yeswanth Kalapala Chakravarthy

11:50 – 12:10 PM

John Kulathu Mathew

12:10 – 12:30 PM

Pooja Annasaheb Patkulkar


13:00 – 13:45 PM



13:45 – 14:05 PM

Vinod Kumar Dorai

Session 2 –

Immunological phenotyping

14:05 – 14:25 PM

Susmitha Karunasree Perumalla


14:25 – 14:45 PM

Dr Somenath Ghatak, Carl Zeiss India

14:45 – 17:00 PM

Poster session over high tea



Jan 13

9:00 – 9:30 AM

Tea, Coffee and Sandwich



9:30 – 10:10 AM

Prof. Shilpee Dutt, ACTREC, Mumbai

Session 3 –

Tumour microenvironment

10:10 – 10:50 AM

Prof. Amit Awasthi, THSTI Gurugram

10:50 – 11:10 AM

Sindhu M

11:10 – 11:30 AM

Madhumitha S

11:30 – 11:50 AM

Arshed Nabeel


11:50 – 13:00 PM

Poster Session


13:00 – 13:45 PM



13:45 – 14:25 PM

Prof. Santosh Misra, IIT Kanpur

Session 4 –

Next generation diagnostics

14:25 – 14:45 PM

Ananya Sharma

14:45 – 15:05 PM

Sayantani Garai

15:05 – 15:25 PM

Rohitraj Ray

15:25 – 16:10 PM

Prof. Bhushan Toley, IISc

16:10 – 16:40 PM

High tea

16:40 – 17:00 PM

Closing Ceremony